Vacation to Yellowstone National Park, Day 2

Much to Alex Rider’s chagrin today, we spent most of the day exploring the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone – instead of looking mostly for animals! Smile We hiked the Upper and Lower Falls of the Yellowstone River, including a 3/8-mile, 600-vertical-feet hike down to the Lower Falls Brink! Yes, the climb back up was a bit arduous for The Dad and myself some of us. But trust me when I tell you – it was definitely worth the effort! (Click to see the pictures full size.)

IMG_0686
Downriver view from the Lower Falls Brink
IMG_0683
The Lower Falls
IMG_0690
My gang of guys!
IMG_0680
Uncle Tom’s Trail to the Lower Falls

And yes, I did get a picture with the boys, too!

IMG_0697

A postcard-perfect picture of the falls from Inspiration Point!

IMG_0704

See the people just to the right of the falls on the lookout platform? We were there for the first set of photos above, as well as all of the people shots!

IMG_0705-1

Again, I will try to post a video of the falls to You Tube and update this post with the link! (The wireless access link here at the resort is very slow, so this will have to wait.)

The Grand Canyon of Yellowstone:IMG_0720

IMG_0721

We also did some “paint pots” and hot springs sight-seeing today:

IMG_0643 IMG_0644-1
IMG_0793 IMG_0788

We did see one “new” animal today – a couple of mule deer:

IMG_0772

And a couple of final pictures of the boys:

IMG_0639
See – they aren’t always having fun! Sad smile
IMG_0757
But this time they were! Smile
About Cindy

I am a wife to a wonderful hubby and mother of fraternal twin boys (born 6/28/1998). I enjoy family vacations/travels, my photography and acrylic painting hobbies, and anything else I feel like writing or sharing!
This entry was posted in Autumn, Family, Outdoors, Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vacation to Yellowstone National Park, Day 2

  1. Sherry says:

    Stunningly beautiful! I have got to get out there one day! 🙂

  2. Ruth in NC says:

    We were there about a week before you and it was lovely. And breathtaking.

  3. pebblekeeper says:

    Looks like a great time. I’d have trouble on the inclines as well. 🙂 Sounds like it is worth it.

  4. your photos are divine and your vacation looks wonderful and filled with all things that are wonderful– family, nature and beauty. *sigh* the good stuff, indeed! 🙂

  5. Cool! My mother-in-law was just trying to convince us to go to Yellowstone. I don’t know if you remember me Cindy, we used to correspond about K12. Anyway, I saw you commented on Learners at Home and said, “Hey, is that the same Cindy?” It’s a small world! Anyway, I just wanted to say “hi!”. Have you joined the Yahoo group, Homeschool Bloggers Haven?

    • Cindy says:

      Hey, Maureen! Of course I remember you! No, I haven’t joined the Homecshool Bloggers Haven – I guess I should? It’s great to see you again!

  6. Tracey says:

    looks a bit chilly there~ ! Ok, so I take it your not back but the pictures are absolutely gorgeous! 🙂 Love the one with you and the boys.

    • Cindy says:

      Right, we are still on vacation! We won’t be back until Saturday evening, but I wanted to get some posts up before then. More sightseeing today!

Leave a Reply

