Reading Assessment Results are In!

I just had my boys take an Online Reading Assessment to compare to the same one they took at the beginning of the year. I am so excited that Dragon Rider has improved SO MUCH! I was most concerned about his Reading Comprehension score which was low at the beginning of the year. The way the Let’s Go Learn DORA assessment works for comprehension is that they read the story and then have to answer questions WITHOUT looking back at the story. Dragon Rider has short-term and working memory deficits as part of his LDs and this kind of test was hard for him. But this year we have done lots of narration with our read-alouds and I have seen him really improve. Now I have the “proof” – his assessment scores! He went from a 4.5 grade level to a 6.5 grade level during this year (his 6th grade year)! Not only is that 2 grade levels in 1 school year, that also means he has just about caught up to where he should be!

Some of his other scores (grade levels):

  • Word Recognition: from 6.5 to 7.5!
  • Vocabulary: from 5.83 to 7.17!
  • High-Frequency Words: from 3.17 to 3.83 (3.83 is the maximum score for this, so he basically didn’t miss any of these words this time!)

So now his only real weak spot is Spelling (went from 2.17 to 2.5), but that’s probably because we haven’t really focused on that this year. Besides, for a child with his LDs, this will always be a struggle for him. Now we can focus more on spelling for 7th grade since he has improved so much on his reading this year. In all honesty, I don’t really worry about spelling like I used to, especially as compared to reading skills. Out of all of the 3R skills I worry most about, reading is THE most important!  My goal for him for this year was to get his reading skills caught up so that he would no longer feel like reading was such a chore. He is doing so well these days, even choosing at times to read instead of playing computer/video games or watching TV! Woohoo!

Not to leave Alex Rider out of the picture at all, his word recognition and vocabulary scores truly SOARED this year! Here are some of his scores for this year:

  • Word Recognition: from 8.83 to 12.83!
  • Vocabulary: from 6.17 to 11.17!

His other scores pretty much stayed the same, with his reading comprehension at an 8.5 level, which I am definitely NOT complaining about! This makes me feel really great that we had a successful year and that using some of the Charlotte Mason techniques or “living books” instead of textbooks and regular oral narrations really works!

About Cindy

I am a wife to a wonderful hubby and mother of fraternal twin boys (born 6/28/1998). I enjoy family vacations/travels, my photography and acrylic painting hobbies, and anything else I feel like writing or sharing!
This entry was posted in Charlotte Mason, Language Arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reading Assessment Results are In!

  1. Umm Fatimah says:

    Hi Cindy,

    Thank you so much for sharing this post with us. I was looking for something like this, to give me a better idea what level my daughter is at. We’re gonna try it out. Yaaay!

    I noticed that your using/planning on using MCTLA with your boys, we plan on starting on Grammar Island Jan/11 really looking forward to it. Would love to hear how you plan out your lessons, and how yall get on.

    All the best

  2. Stephanie says:

    Great job!!!

  3. Maree says:

    Thank you for a very interesting post Cindy. “Let’s Go Learn” looks like an interesting program. The results certainly speak volumes!!! Thanks for sharing

  4. Cindy says:

    I had a talk with the boys last night about their scores and a report I discovered that shows how long they spent on each passage in the reading comprehension section. The assessment is adaptive, so it keeps giving them more difficult passages until they don’t score high enough on the questions to keep going. For both boys, the passage that caused them to stop at their tested level showed much less time spent than the previous passages. That tells me that they go tired of reading and testing and kind of skimmed through things. They admitted that was the case so we talked about how they could have taken a short break and come back to it since the test is not timed. And how their scores would probably have gone up another grade level (or part) if they had done so and taken their time. Alex Rider readily admitted that he tried to go too fast through it and that is probably why he didn’t show much improvement over the year in reading comprehension. So he and I talked about how he OFTEN misses things or doesn’t score as well because he is always racing through things. He knows it is a “problem” that he has, but I also know where he got it from. 😉 I didn’t learn until 10th grade Algebra 2 that trying to speed through my tests and not show any work was costing me grades! It’s a good thing that I started changing my ways then or I would have never made it through any of my higher math classes! 😀

  5. J M Pontius says:

    I feel your excitement, too! That’s wonderful news, especially considering the temporary setback early this year [January-February-March]. My question is: how does Dragon Rider feel about his scores? Is he also excited? What does Alex Rider think about his progress this year? Now what can you do to maintain this degree of achievement through the summer? – JMP

    • Cindy says:

      I was able to share with each boy their individual scores last night (separately) and then told them both together that I was very pleased with how well they have progressed this year. I do agree that considering Dragon Rider’s temporary setback that it is great that he still showed such improvement, though I didn’t bring this up with him. They were both happy with their results as well. I think Dragon Rider felt a bit like he knew his reading was much better already just by how much he has been reading lately and enjoying it. Alex Rider was VERY PLEASED with himself and quite happy about improving his vocabulary so much. He now sees a purpose for some of the curricula he was using this year and can see the tangible results of those curricula. And I told both boys that now that we have boosted the reading side so well that we will need to focus a bit more on our spelling (which will partly come with a bit more focus on writing) in 7th grade. I got a couple of groans about that! 😉

      As for this summer, they are both still reading quite avidly, so I think that will do the most to keep their skills sharp. I need to find another new series for Alex Rider as he keeps reading so fast I can’t keep him in books! I told him he needs to start reading harder material and his response was “If the stories were any good, I would!” LOL! And I am starting to have a problem keeping Dragon Rider in books these days! When he finds a series he likes, he sits around reading for hours until the books are gone and then I have to go find more books for him, too! We will also still do an ocassional read-aloud this summer so we can share some more stories and discuss them (better for comprehension.)

Leave a Reply

