Too much science, so little time!

I just keep finding more science resources every time I look around! I realized tonight that I have 2 really nice Usborne science books – the Internet-Linked Science Encyclopedia and the Internet-Linked Mysteries & Marvels of Science. I had bought them when we were using Noeo Science Chemistry II and even though we didn’t finish the curriculum, the books are a great resource. So for tomorrow’s Science Block, I am supplementing their Trail Guides science with some reading from the Science Encyclopedia and its corresponding Internet Quicklinks.

Classic Life Science In addition to these books, I found in my email a reminder from the author of Classic Science that he has a wonderful set of books for young peoples science! Now here’s another curriculum designed for the younger crowd, through about 4th or 5th grade, but his books look really great! He now offers Life Science, Earth Science, Chemistry, and Physical Science, and includes both quick review sheets on the reading as well as plenty of labs and hands-on activities. He provides the science text himself so I don’t see any specific book recommendations for supplementation and “going further”, but that would be easy to do, I think. I think on Friday (the next Science Block day), I will assign a Chapter from this book (Life Science is free to download and use) to see how the boys respond to it. I have until April 30th (is that Friday?) to purchase other volumes at a 25% discount, reducing them from $50 to $37.50 and the are downloadable eBooks so there is no shipping cost.

With so many options for science, even though designed for slightly younger children but easily modified, how is one to choose and limit so that one isn’t overwhelmed?!

About Cindy

I am a wife to a wonderful hubby and mother of fraternal twin boys (born 6/28/1998). I enjoy family vacations/travels, my photography and acrylic painting hobbies, and anything else I feel like writing or sharing!
This entry was posted in Science and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Too much science, so little time!

  1. Hmm. I wish I knew. Yesterday H told me he wants all our homeschooling to be nature study. So I’m wondering about a unit or theme that would incorporate the other subjects too.

  2. Science is our favorite subject too. I don’t think it’s possible to have too much if the kids are loving it.

    • Cindy says:

      Yes, I can see that. So the question is, do I buy any of the Classic Science books while they are on sale – like the Earth Science ($37.50) for next year? Or do I buy the REAL Science Odyssey’s Life Science ($38.99) to go with the Earth Science one that I already have? Decisions, decisions!

Leave a Reply

