Pocket Chart Assigment System

So I have started my lesson planning for the week and have filled in the new pocket chart! Here’s what it looks like when it’s all filled in:
Pocket Chart
Pocket Chart Assignment System

Most of the cards that you see I call the Subject cards. Behind them I slide a second card called a Task card which will have a picture or graphic of the resource used for that task or assignment. To the side of that picture, I put the assignment, whether it’s pages to be read, pages with instructions for the assignment, or a note to check the page in their OneNote notebook for more complete instructions that I have typed up. Here are some images of the Task cards:

 Task Cards 1Task Cards 2Task Cards 3

I got the ideas for these cards (and some samples) from Lisa at http://keenkidsathome.wordpress.com. I used Microsoft Publisher to create them, then printed them and laminated them. I found out that Wal-Mart carries the Scotch-brand heal laminator for only $25 and the laminating sheets for it are cheaper than the self-stick ones by a long shot – and it’s much easier to use! 🙂

So as Dragon Rider completes each task, he takes all the cards from that  pocket and puts them in the pocket at the bottom labeled Done. This pocket is just tacked on with tacky-putty so that I can remove it to empty it.  The clothes pins with each days of the week are designed so that when he is finished with the day’s assignments, he can remove the clothes pin and clip it along the bottom of the chart. That will help him keep track of the days of the week and maybe help him practice his days of the week which he still struggles.

Maybe what I have done for this can give you some ideas for your homeschool.

About Cindy

I am a wife to a wonderful hubby and mother of fraternal twin boys (born 6/28/1998). I enjoy family vacations/travels, my photography and acrylic painting hobbies, and anything else I feel like writing or sharing!
This entry was posted in Homeschool and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pocket Chart Assigment System

  1. Tracey says:

    Lisa, If your doomed than so am I along with you ~ I think it is the nature of teaching our children at home is to have the opportunity and flexibility to change things as often as we might need to, although it can be tiring~ ! lol
    I enjoyed your blog also that Cindy hi-lighted hear and signed up for your feed as well!~

  2. Lisa says:

    It looks great, Cindy! You’ve really put your own twist on it and come up with some great ideas. I hope it works for your boys (and you’re not doomed to a life of constant rejigging like I am, lol).

  3. I like this better than workboxes, I think. Takes up less room. I am a visual person, so the pictures really help. Thanks for doing the post!

  4. Tracey says:

    Cindy, this is great!~ I went searching for the pocket folder but because it is the end of the year they were all out of the ones I wanted, this one looks like an attendance pocket chart? Am I right?
    I really like it so while I am waiting for the charts to come in I bought pockets and am making up our own for now to see how it works and if it works well I will go ahead and print out cards etc… and spend more time working on it.
    The only difference for us is I am going to have two pockets per subject, one with the lesson and the one on the bottom will be the finished pocket.. (just takes the place of your done pocket folder below) so when he is done he just moves the lesson card to the finished pocket and he can see what he has done and what he has left. ~ hope it works well for you Cindy, keep us posted I will be curious to see how it all goes for you 🙂 Great job btw, I really like it.. 🙂

    • Cindy says:

      Tracey,

      The one I purchased said it was a behavior chart but an attendance chart would work just as well.

      Thanks for the encouragement. So far, with this and with the block scheduling, things are a little easier for all of us.

Leave a Reply

