A different perspective on a Classical Education

The Classical Scholar  is a site that shows how a classical education is not a serial, sequential process following the developmental stages as in the Well-Trained Mind. I very much appreciate Diane Lockman’s perspective on how to give your kids a classical education, minus, of course, the heavy Christian focus. I particularly like this post describing a how the classical education got tied to 3 developmental stages and why a true Classical Education is not defined that way: Shaky Speculation: The Lost Tools of Learning.

I have her book, Trivium Mastery: The Intersection of Three Roads and in fact, one of the case studies is about my son, Dragon Rider. (Alex Rider didn’t want to talk to her on the phone and be involved in a case study.) If you look for the family of Henry and Jean with son Jason, that is our case. And no, those are not our real names. 😉

About Cindy

I am a wife to a wonderful hubby and mother of fraternal twin boys (born 6/28/1998). I enjoy family vacations/travels, my photography and acrylic painting hobbies, and anything else I feel like writing or sharing!
This entry was posted in Classical Education, Homeschool and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A different perspective on a Classical Education

  1. Cindy says:

    Thank you, Lea Ann! I am glad you found the article interesting. How did you find my site? Yahoo Groups?

  2. Very interesting! I have enjoyed your site and “getting to know you” through your writing.

    ~ Lea Ann
    whateverstate.wordpress.com
    facebook.com/HomeEducation

Leave a Reply

